CNN: Why Role Playing Games Are Good for Kids

19 10 2011

Here’s a great article about one of my passions. No, I didn’t write it, but I’ll definitely  be paying close attention to these great resources!

– dEV

From: CNN Geek Out

October 18th, 2011

I am a huge fan of playing tabletop Role Playing Games (RPG). I like the way the games ignite your imagination and tell great stories, so much so that I was looking for an opportunity to introduce the games to my nieces and nephews.

So I was thrilled to talk to Enrique Bertran who not only runs a very successful blog on RPG’s called NewbieDM.com but has created a role playing game just for kids called rpgKids.

We talked about the game and his thoughts on kids playing RPGs and geek stuff in general. Hope you enjoy!

CNN Geek Out: Tell us little about your self.

RPG Kids Logo

rpgKIDS.com

Enrique Bertran (NewbieDM): Well, I’m a 30-something husband and dad in Miami, who’s a network sports TV producer by day, and a pretty big nerd at night. I’m into all the stereotypical geeky stuff, “Star Wars,” video games, superheroes, etc … My wife calls me a man-child, and there’s some truth to that.

Geek Out: One of your creations is a tabletop role-playing games for kids called RPG Kids. Can you tell us how that came about?

NewbieDM: I host D&D gaming sessions at my house with a group of guys I’ve been gaming with on and off for close to 20 years, and my daughter, who was four at the time, took an interest in the game and its funny dice. So rpgKids was my way of introducing her to fantasy role playing games in a simple manner. I created some kid-friendly rules, put it up on my blog, and it kind of took off from there.

(Full Story)

http://geekout.blogs.cnn.com/2011/10/18/why-role-playing-games-are-good-for-kids/?hpt=hp_bn8

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

